Verbal Remix

The other day, as I was cooking up a little something for my “knock-knock” time (Rev 3:20 says that God is standing at the door knocking and if we hear him and open the door, He’ll come in and we’ll dine together). I was looking for an opening course of praise for our dinner together when I came across Psalm 147. I read through it, looking for a recipe idea…something creative I could do with it…a different way of reading it. WOW! Look at the verbs in this thing! It’s as if the writer of this Psalm was making a list of verbs with a few praises of praise to break the monotony.

Read through Psalm 147 for yourself. Write down the verbs and verb phrases. (builds up, gathers, heals, binds up, counts, gives names, supports….) Read through the Psalm again aloud, this time emphasizing each verb phrase.

Now give this Psalm a remix by keeping the same form but changing the phrases and verbs to reflect the divine actions you’ve seen in your own life adventure.

Ofthe verbten we refer to God as “The Word” (as in John 1:14) but I sometimes like to think of Him as “The Verb”. Some Spanish and Portuguese Bibles even translate this verse with the word “verb”…..”The VERB became flesh”. I actually think it suits him better. From the very beginning He was was an action verb, “In the beginning God CREATED”. He’s not just a static “word” on a page….He’s a VERB that acts, that moves, that heals, that sustains, that forgives, that loves.

Leave a comment